Planning Commission

commission hearing and chambers

The Planning Commission consists of seven commissioners appointed by the Mayor and the President of the Board of Supervisors. They hold weekly public hearings and maintain the San Francisco General Plan. The commission oversees the San Francisco Planning Department.

Each nomination made by the President of the Board of Supervisors and the Mayor is subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors and subject to a public hearing and vote within 60 days. If the Board fails to act on the nomination within 60 days of the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors, the nominee shall be deemed approved.

Members of the Planning Commission provide an invaluable service to the City: they advise the Mayor, Board of Supervisors and City departments on San Francisco's long-range goals, policies and programs on a broad array of issues related to land use, transportation, and current planning.

Additionally, the Commission has specific responsibility for the stewardship and maintenance of San Francisco's General Plan. Planning Commissioners serve four-year terms. Four of the seven Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor, three are appointed by the President of the Board of Supervisors.

Hearing Schedule

* Subject to change, please check hearing agendas for details.

Receive Agendas

Beginning January 1, 2019, a free digital subscription service (GovDelivery) will be used to send agenda updates, either via email or text. Unsubscribe at any time.

Video and Archives

* subject to SFGovTV scheduling

Upcoming Hearings


Planning Department Staff