Historic Preservation Commission

Upcoming Hearings

Get Notifications

Subscribe to Historic Preservation Commission Hearing Agendas to receive email or text of upcoming hearings. Unsubscribe at any time. Agendas are posted six calendar days prior to the hearing date.

Public Comment

Personal information that is provided in communications to the Planning Department is subject to disclosure under the California Public Records Act and the San Francisco Sunshine Ordinance. Personal information provided will not be redacted. Details on our Privacy Policy page.


Hearings are broadcast live biweekly on Wednesdays at 12:30pm via SFGovTV and re-broadcast next day at 5:00pm. *
* See agenda for details – subject to SFGovTV scheduling.

About the Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission was established in 2008 by Charter Section 4.135 and is a seven-member body advises the Mayor, Board of Supervisors and City Departments on San Francisco historic preservation goals, policies and programs. All members are nominated by the Mayor and subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors. Members of the Historic Preservation Commission shall be persons specially qualified by reason of interest, competence, knowledge, training and experience in the historic, architectural, aesthetic, and cultural traditions of the City, interested in the preservation of its historic structures, sites and areas, and residents of the City.

The Commission recommends buildings and places that are historically or culturally significant to the heritage of San Francisco for designation by the Board of Supervisors. Once designated, the Commission helps regulate those resources during the permit review and entitlement process to protect our heritage while ensuring that preservation is used as a tool to promote growth, revitalization, and the appreciation of our diverse neighborhoods.

The Architectural Review Committee

The Architectural Review Committee (ARC) is a three-member sub-committee of the Historic Preservation Commission that provides guidance on certain design issues related to a historic resource.


Chris Foley
Commissioner, SEAT 5, Preservation Professional
Historic Preservation Commission
Jason Wright
Commissioner, SEAT 3 Architectural Historian
Historic Preservation Commission

Planning Commission Staff